Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

Glen Tanar: Man eaters?

Plan A failed before it even got off the ground, for lots of reasons, so I decided to just head out to one of my favourite spots for a night in the woods of Glen Tanar.  I’ve discovered a number of spots in the upper glen which offer seclusion & nice pitches less than 2 hrs for the carpark; an enjoyable stroll up through the Caledonian pines. In the late afternoon most visitors to the glen have retreated & there’s usually lots of wild life visible to the quiet walkers strolling around; on this occasion I spotted roe deer, red squirrel, red grouse, a mouse darting across the path & most spectacularly a cock Capercaille which I first spotted through the trees about 40m away, it had obviously spotted me since it had gone into threat display mode.

IMG_2099 (Large)

Inside 30 seconds it had closed to a few metres & was behaving very aggressively; the blurry photo is me try to dodge around trees & shoot at the same time. 

IMG_2105 (Large)

I quickly passed it by, more concerned about the bird getting injured than any potential minor injury to myself.

My chosen spot was reached in another km, a wonderful small clearing amongst the pines; thankfully another Capercaille hadn’t decided this was his spot.

IMG_2109 (Large)

Another advantage of this site is plenty of fuel for the Tri-tri lying around; I did think that I should have brought a steak instead of the couscous.

IMG_2110 (Large)

I didn’t have to move more than 3m to supply the fire with enough small sticks to keep it ticking over for 2 -3 hrs but just a little disappointed that the near full moon obscured a lot of the stars.

I awoke to a frosty morning but he clear sky & bright sunshine made it feel warm.  Took time for a lazy breakfast then set off on a longer route back to the car. 

Surprised, surprise I got ‘attacked’ by another Capercaille, it came out of nowhere in full attack mode & I had to use the trekking pole handles to keep it at bay while I quickly made my way past; no time for photos.  Even when I was ‘retreating’ it didn’t give up, I even jogged about 30-40m just to put some distance between us but it just took off & landed behind me; another 30m onward it finally gave up some 100m after the first encounter.  It did make me smile a little at how such a bird will take on something 10 times its size especially after I came across this notice 500m down the track.IMG_2111 (Large)

A most enjoyable sojourn with 2 memorable events thrown in!  It did make me wonder whether the Capercaille’s testosterone fuelled aggression contributed to it’s first extinction in the UK back in the mid-18th century; too easy to simply knock it on the head with a stick if you’re hungry, always remembering that you could probably have got hung for poaching or a boat trip to the colonies!

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2016 by in Trip Reports and tagged , , .
justanothertrail

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Mountain's Silhouette

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

Nielsen Brown Outdoors

experiencing the outdoors wherever we are

Must Be This Way

Chat about backpacking, trekking and hiking

Daunerin' Aboot

Ian Sommerville's writings and occasional rants

OutdoorsMH

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

alan sloman's big walk

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

secretmountain.co.uk

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

Land Matters

........ the blog and website of Andy Wightman

blogpackinglight

another backpacking blog

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

cairngormwanderer

Wandering in the Cairngorms and other lesser ranges, by Neil Reid

ness64

Hillwalking and Backpacking Trips in the Scottish Highlands

Section Hikers Backpacking Blog

Hiking and Backpacking for Beginners and Experts

