Whiteburn's Wanderings

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

Playing in the snow

30 Jan 2014

A predicted lull in the seeming endless series of storms tempted my out for a day in the hills to try out the MSR Evo Ascent Snowshoes.  A lull is probably a bit of an overstatement, from the Mountian Weather Information Service (MWIS): : ….a rare day of light winds…..,25mph South-easterly; snow flurries, -4C.

The Glen Shee ski tows just seemed to be getting cranked up for business as I arrived at the car park at 10:00am with maybe 40 cars parked up already, a lot of people walking around with planks on their shoulders and lots of white stuff about!

I chatted to a couple of walkers from Dundee who were heading off up the Cairnwell; my plan was in the opposite direction Glas Maol and Creag Leacach then perhaps over to Cairn of Claise.

The eastern chairlift and tows weren’t in operation so I donned the show shoes and headed off straight up the piste.  Once at the upper chair lift station (760m) I enter the clag and by the time I’d reached Meall Odhar (922m) the visibility was down to 5 m.  The last 120m climb up to the summit plateau of Glas Maol was quite tough going through deep powder snow, kicking in the snow shoes up what seemed like a 45 deg slope was quite tiring but soon over.

I crossed the summit plateau towards the summit head down straight into a 30+ mph wind being blasted with snow and ice, I didn’t see the summit cairn but according to the GPS I walked right around it (perhaps it was buried), all I saw was:

IMG_0500

I set off downhill SW towards Creag Leacach but on reaching the bealach and I decided that wandering through the clad wasn’t much fun and perhaps a bit of discretion (the potential for large unseen cornices) was in order so I did an about turn and headed off back north across the west flank of Glas Maol.

Heading off back down the steep upper slopes towards Meall Odhar in snowshoes provided a little entertainment, at times rapid progress was made ‘skiing’ sideways, a lot easier than going up!  Lower down the hill the ski runs had plenty of novice traffic so I decided to swing a little south to avoid getting run down, I think I made it down to the lower station quicker than some of those on planks.

IMG_0965

I arrived back at the car around 3:30hrs after departure which having covered around 8.5km with 550m of ascent.  I was very pleased with the first snow shoe experience, they definitely made the trying conditions bearable and if the cloud base hadn’t been so low I think the planned trip would have been easily doable, and enjoyable, without the snowshoes I would have turned back a lot sooner.

Given that the snow conditions in Scotland aren’t ‘reliable’ some would question whether snowshoes are worth it.  I justified the purchase after spending many weeks over the years avoiding the tops, particularly the big Cairngorm’s plateaus after dumps of snow.  I found that sticking to the glens waiting for the snow to consolidate or ‘postholing’ though even 30cm of snow frustratingly painful and tiring; I also picked up a good deal by buying in the summer!

IMG_0502

I was quite impressed with the general design and built of the Evo Ascents; the teeth on the lower rails and the toe ‘crampons’ do bite very well into compacted snow and ice making for sure footed travel, even up quite steep slopes; the heel lifter although only giving around 15 deg of lift does make for easier passage on a long uphill section, the lift bar has to be latched into position manually and is quite firm, but after a bit of practice I found that I could snap it down easily with a walking pole; while the deck is small (in comparison with some other makes/ models) is seems an ideal size for the terrain that I’ll generally encounter (even in deep soft snow I was only sinking 15cm) and they’re not too heavy to carry (~1.8 kg) when they’re not needed.  I did learn not to tighten the binding too much as I go a bit of cramp in the feet and had to loosen them off after a while.  I should thank Chris Townsend and Phil Werner (Section Hiker) for their knowledgeable advice during my purchasing research.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2014 by in Gear, Reviews, Trip Reports and tagged , , .
justanothertrail

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

The Mountain's Silhouette

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

Nielsen Brown Outdoors

experiencing the outdoors wherever we are

Must Be This Way

Chat about backpacking, trekking and hiking

Daunerin' Aboot

Ian Sommerville's writing and photography

OutdoorsMH

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

alan sloman's big walk

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

secretmountain.co.uk

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

Land Matters

........ the blog and website of Andy Wightman

blogpackinglight

another backpacking blog

One man's wanderings backpacking around Scotland plus the odd digression

cairngormwanderer

Wandering in the Cairngorms and other lesser ranges, by Neil Reid

ness64

Hillwalking and Backpacking Trips in the Scottish Highlands

Section Hikers Backpacking Blog

Hiking and Backpacking for Beginners and Experts

